Tags

, , , , , , ,

We had just finished eating supper. We sat down to watch the 6 o’clock news. She never misses it.

We were both so tired.

Just as the weather report came on, thunder erupted from the sky above. A severe thunderstorm closed up the clear blue skies.

Power left us immediately…along with the news.

We burst out laughing; hysterically.

The building fire alarm started screaming at us.

I went out onto the balcony for a smoke. She decided to sit with me; I mean, it was better than sitting inside alone, in the dark.

I played in the rain while she laughed at me. ‘Good girl’ she said. We told stories of times long ago. Faded memories being patched together again.

Two hours later the fire alarm committed suicide. ‘Yay!’ We shouted.

We went back inside, cold, wet and hungry.

‘Power outages always make me hungry.’ I told her.

‘Really?’ She asked.

‘I don’t know but I’m hungry now, so yeah?’ I responded.

We laughed some more.

‘Go make a sandwich.’ She told me

‘K, you coming?’ I questioned.

‘Yeah I am.’ She said.

After our snack was devoured, she sat at the kitchen table and twiddled her thumbs and we laughed some more.

‘Looks like there’s nothing to do but go sleep.’ She said; so nonchalantly.

‘Say what? Its only 9:30pm!’

I walked her to her bedroom since I was the only one with light.

She went to bed.

I’m sitting on the sofa, in the dark, typing this post up, from my phone.

image

